Ryuna's WINGED STAFF

Need help with sewing techniques, or making a 10 ft sword? Seek help from other cosplayers here!
MtDewFaerie

Ryuna's WINGED STAFF

Post by MtDewFaerie » Fri Mar 17, 2006 11:03 pm

http://img374.imageshack.us/img374/3786/warriors9aq.jpg

Ok, so I'm in a bit of a dilemma. I only have one week to make this staff. I have no skills what-so-ever in crafting metal or piping to do something like this, nor do I know anyone who could do it for me. I was wondering if anyone had some simple ideas for me to do for this? Thanks so much!
See the Mountain Dew Faerie, Feel the Shine!

Shiranui

Post by Shiranui » Sun Mar 19, 2006 1:23 pm

We had this discussion once. On page 2 or something...

MtDewFaerie

Post by MtDewFaerie » Sun Mar 19, 2006 1:53 pm

Yes, but those comments ranged in the metal/fiberglass area. I was wondering if anyone had advice for this staff, using none of those things. Me being a novice, I have no idea in that welding, soldering, etc. expertise.
See the Mountain Dew Faerie, Feel the Shine!

mindtailor

Post by mindtailor » Sun Mar 19, 2006 9:04 pm

If you can find an old, thin curtain rod, grab it. Otherwise get yourself to a Home Depot or likewise and find yourself a thin, short, extending curtain rod that's either plain on the end or with a finial (the fancy/round bit at the end) that you like. Then grab yourself an old car/radio antenna* and some little metal or foam bits to make the ankh shape at the top.

If your curtain rod is an extending one, pull the two sides apart. Use whichever one you like better. If they're the same length, it shouldn't matter. If it's not an extending one, find a hacksaw and cut one end off. If you don't have a hacksaw, find a friend that does or go back to Home Depot and see if they'll cut it for you.