Looking for Help with my workflow and Material!

Need help with sewing techniques, or making a 10 ft sword? Seek help from other cosplayers here!
Warpavp2

Looking for Help with my workflow and Material!

Post by Warpavp2 » Wed Aug 12, 2015 2:02 pm

Hey everyone! I'm new to Cosplaying/Costume Creation (don't get mad at me if there are specific things and terms that I don't know :D)! I'm looking for some help on my workflow for a very large project (not in costume size, but detail and work).

I like to go very high detail and construction, but I've run into some issues on two topics:

Costume Strengt/Appeal
and
Costume Details/Assembly

Let me tell you what I'm doing/My current workflow. I'm making a creature based off the Hive from Destiny specifically the Thralls. They have Chitinous armor and fleshy looking interiors. I am currently WiP for my concept art on what my "blueprints" will look like to make it wearable. But the basic idea is:

-Spandex as the First Layer (Painted with detail/lights/darks as a base for the body)
-Shell/Armor for the main body parts (For the 3D look and realism)
-A Head Piece with LEDS for light emissions AND MOVEABLE JAW lol
-In-between Joints I want to add Spandex Stitched onto spandex with either latex or -something on the spandex for a more fleshy look under the armor/chitinous shell. (See further below).

But I need suggestions and tips for cost efficient ways to make the shell armor and the spandex between the joints.

My current workflow idea for the body parts/arms/legs/fingers:
-Base pattern drawn on masking tape
-Pattern copied to Craft Foam Or is there something better? Worbla and Wonderflex are too expensive to buy in bulk, I'm kinda on a budget lol (And further below I have enough for fiberglass, but you know what I mean)
-Craft Foam heated and shaped to armor shape
-Reinforce Craft Foam with possibly layers of Gesso and Masking Tape to keep strength and shape. Suggestions for sealers or strength here?